Test Taking Annoyance


Busy studying for a test. Flipping endless notecards in order to memorize a hundred works of pre-Columbian Mezoamerican artworks.

Do you know which Mezoamerican culture this work of art comes from?

Can’t really see the point, it’s not like I’m ever going to need to know if a piece of artwork originated from the Olmec culture or the Zapotec culture. I am forced to take this class because my minor “requires” it, and I really want to “graduate.”

I feel like test are a gross mis-representation of knowledge. I feel like they’re designed specifically to make students forget everything they learned. I can feel 100% confident going into a test yet bomb it hopelessly.

Fail

Studying also takes up valuable life time. I can’t have meaningful human interaction if I’m busy with my nose in an irrelevant textbook. I feel like I waste too much time studying for a test or doing homework. I feel like after 20 hours of class time per week I should not be expected to do more work.

Do you feel that your knowledge is not properly represented in tests?
Can one have meaningful human interaction while studying?
Do you value your interactions with humans?
Do you consider yourself a “crazy cat lady?”
Am I still a relevant human being?

Banana Jam Pt.1 – Julian Lynch
Too Much – Sufjan Stevens
Cut Your Hair – Pavement
I Want To – Best Coast
Odessa – Caribou
Cato As A Pun – Of Montreal
Steady, As She Goes – The Raconteurs
I Couldn’t Love You – Cursive
Bros – Panda Bear
Rock the Casbah – The Clash
At A Glance (Toro y Moi Remix) – Body Language
Dig For Fire – Pixies
Dreams – Fleetwood Mac
Clears Throat – FUR
Rhinestone Eyes – Gorillaz
The MessageĀ  – Grandmaster Flash
Wet Hair – Japandroids
Sex Machine – James Brown
A Salty Salute – Eternal Summers
noah’s ark – cocorosie
Oh Yoko – John Lennon
2 Weeks ’til Prom – Lil Wayne and Grizzly Bear
Paradise Circus – Massive Attack
It Never Rains In Southern California – Albert Hammond
Song For Lonely Giants – The Mountain Goats
Sleeper Hold – No Age
Me and Julio Down By the Schoolyard – Paul Simon
Cutlass – PVC Street Gang

Vinyl Countdown

10. Rich Girl – Hall & Oates
9. Cold War – Janelle Monae
8. Revival – Deerhunter
7. Whaddaya Wanna Know – Cloud Nothings
6. Cave Grill – Arch M
5. Ruling Me – Weezer
4. Watch The Glow – Museum Of Bellas Artes
3. Northern Islands – Blank Dogs
2. Bombay – El Guincho
1. Feeling Today – Botany

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

